Friday, December 21, 2007

Kyra, Glenn do the Double w/ SAG Awards Noms

By LillyKat / PTR Staff Writer

'Tis the season for award nominations.

Even with the ongoing writers strike.

After earning Golden Globe nominations for Best Actress in a TV Drama, PTR faves Glenn Close (Damages) and Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer) also earned Screen Actors Guild (SAG) nominations for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series. Additionally, the gang over at The Closer were also nominated for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series.

SAG will honor its own and celebrate the 75th anniversary of its founding at the 14th Annual Actors® ceremony on Sunday, Jan. 27, 2008, at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center, simulcast live nationally on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT, and 6 p.m. MT.

And, unlike the still-in-doubt-what-are-we-going-to-do-with the Golden Globes telecast if the Writers Guild of America (WGA) is still on strike (and actors/actresses are no-shows at the event), the WGA has already granted permission for one of its members to write for the SAG ceremony, thus potentially leaving the SAG Awards as the only major televised film honors to be broadcast as planned come 2008.

Sources: SAG Awards; AP

2 comments:

TVFan said...

Congrats to them once again! I have to say, I'm even more thrilled to see the entire cast of The Closer getting a nod. They rock!!

suekola44 said...

Great news all around!!